IFM Board Members

The IFM Board of Directors is the governing body of the firm. Key roles of the IFM Board include: developing the vision, mission, values and strategic direction of IFM; ensuring firm compliance with regulatory requirements and ethical standards; and maintaining effective financial, safety and risk management, audit and compliance systems.

Garry Weaven

Joined IFM in 2003

Garry is Chair of Industry Funds Management, a global fund manager owned by a number of Australian superannuation (pension) funds, and of Pacific Hydro, a leading Australian renewable energy company with extensive operations in Australia and South America. He is also a Director of Members Equity Bank and was a foundation Board member of Melbourne's Docklands Authority as well as its successor, VicUrban. Garry's involvement in superannuation and funds management follows a successful career in the Australian union movement, which culminated in him being elected Assistant Secretary of the ACTU in 1986. Garry played a seminal role in the development of the industry superannuation fund movement and in 1994 founded Industry Fund Services, the forerunner to a number of collectively owned financial service providers, including IFM.

Brian Pollock

Board Member
Joined IFM in 2007

Brian is a Board member of IFM and has over 35 years experience in superannuation, financial services and property investment. He retired as Executive Director Property and Lending with AXA Asia Pacific Group (formerly National Mutual Group) in July 1998. Brian is a former National President of the Property Council of Australia and is one of only seven members to have been awarded life membership. He was Chairman of Industry Super Property Trust, one of Australia’s largest unlisted property trust managers, from 1998 to 2004. Brian is Chairman of AE Smith Pty Ltd and the Macquarie Real Estate Equity Fund series of companies. He is also a Director of Members Equity Bank. Brian was formerly Chairman of Becton Property Group and a Director of Programmed Maintenance Services Limited.

Murray Bleach

Board Member
Joined IFM in 2010

Murray is Chair of the IFM Board Investment Committee and has over 30 years experience in the finance industry. He originally worked as a Chartered Accountant for KPMG Peat Marwick in Sydney, Australia and Dallas, Texas. His move into financial services came in 1987, when he joined Bankers Trust Australia. Murray joined Macquarie Group as part of Macquarie’s acquisition of Bankers Trust Australia and moved to the US in 1999. During this time he built the infrastructure business from a small team of six to a team of more than 140 executives. In July 2004, Murray was appointed Head of North America and Director and Co-CEO of Macquarie Capital (USA) Inc and President of Macquarie Holdings (USA) Inc. During this period Murray acted as Chairman or Director on over 60 Macquarie-entity boards. Murray retired from Macquarie in December 2009. He is a non-executive director of Eraring Energy, currently sitting on its Audit and Risk, Safety and Compensation committees. Murray is also a non-executive director of the internet start-up company, Zanbato, a web-based listing service and bulletin board for infrastructure and alternative assets. He joined the board of Suicide Prevention Australia in September 2011.

Michael Migro

Board Member
Joined IFM in 2009

Michael has had a broad and extensive 35 year career in funds management and financial services. His experience has been gained in both Australia and the US. Michael has had significant leadership responsibilities in various capacities as Head of Business Strategy (BT Funds Management), Joint Managing Director (Westpac Financial Services), CEO (Perpetual Funds Management and Principal Global Investors Australia), and more recently in the US as COO (Principal Global Investors) and President and Chief Operating Officer (Post Advisory Group LLC). Michael is also a Director of Industry Fund Services, the leading provider of financial products and advice services to industry superannuation funds in Australia, and is on the Investment Committee of the Steve Waugh Foundation Australia.

Glenn Bunney

Board Member
Joined IFM in 2012

Glenn has over 25 years’ experience as a Chief Executive covering both industrial and human services. His background in the superannuation field includes five years as a Trustee Director with HESTA, five years on the IFM Investment Advisory Board and two years as Director of ISPT and IGIPT, as well as being a member of the Audit and Compliance Committee of ISPT. In addition, he has held positions on several not for profit boards, including age service industry boards at state, national and international levels. During his time as Trustee Director with HESTA, Glenn developed a keen interest in trustee corporate governance and ESG issues, and was directly involved in investment decisions on behalf of members.

Linda Rubinstein

Board Member
Joined IFM in 2013

Linda has served on IFM's Investor Advisory Board and was the Chair of the Australian Government Employees Superannuation Trust (AGEST) until its merger with AustralianSuper. She was a union nominee to the board of HOSTPLUS and an ACTU nominee to the Board of Cbus. Linda has a part-time role with Holding Redlich, where she is Director of the firm's Pro-Bono practice, and enjoyed a long period of employment at the ACTU, where her responsibilities included industrial legislation and superannuation.